top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFronteras COL

My little windows and me

Since the pandemic started, we have all seen each other make changes in our lives and adapt to reality. The simplest things have taken on a new meaning. This gallery is a look at the small windows that I have lived with during my confinement, some of them alive, others not. I wanted to show who I am through what I like and what surrounds me. It was an exercise to give a different look to my daily life.


The first days of my arrival in Colombia were accompanied by this view: my computer and the door. As part of my obligatory isolation, I had to remain alone and my only company were the series. They functioned as a window to the outside world, which looked so close but at the same time distant.


After ten days a small face appeared at the door and he used a chair to accompany me. Almost a year is having a child close by. Sebastián reminded me of that little me who just liked looking at others and asking them what they were doing.


I had not played a board game for years, I forbade them because of how competitive I am. Playing ladder reminded me of how impatient and demanding I am with myself. The difference is that this time I didn't mind winning, just having fun.


After fourteen days I was able to go home and see my favorite being in the world: my little dog. She with her small eyes and her smile made me feel at home again. My happiness comes from her, my quarantine partner. I still remember when she arrived, she was restless and ate everything she found. Now she just likes to sleep and sit in her coach to have a sunbath.


Adult life hit me again: my thesis support. I approved. For some reason it was a respite from my life, I had been working so hard on that book for so long that I forgot it was not working and just sleeping. It is beautiful to think that I only have my internship left and I will graduate. It is a beautiful shot, it is as if it will start again from scratch.


Writing is one of my favorite hobbies. It is my way of clearing the mind. From the age of sixteen I fill notebooks with ideas and texts. Additionally, I started a collection of strange pens. My favorite is that of a seal that smiles. I like to see it as I write because it makes me happy. Writing my adventures is what I like the most in the world.


The view from my window is beautiful. The mountain changes every day, as I do. Working in front of this landscape is more enjoyable, it feels like being outside without having to leave. It's true that sometimes the amount of light stresses me and I wish I didn't have this window, but then I remember when I love it.


My daily trip to the world is when I read. It feels like traveling without leaving my room. I have started reading what I brought from my trip, it is my way of remembering too. Those letters are like escaping to a place far away from here, from my room.


The last look I have to the outside world is my room which, although technically my place of confinement, is where I enjoy my life the most. Through video calls or messages I can feel this space full of love and it is as if people were here with me.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page